How Not to Cook on A First Date

Discussion in 'The Late Night Cafe (off-topic)' started by novicecook, Jul 16, 2010.

1. novicecook

novicecook

Exp:
    Can't boil water
    Hi All,

As I said in my introduction, I am a pretty terrible cook.  But sometimes (very very rarely), being a horrible cook pays off.    I recently entered a contest for a free wedding in Jamaica in which I had to write a short essay about my first date with my fiance (or how we met).  I decided to write about how, on our first date, we nearly suffocated each other.  I guess the judges liked the story, and now Hillary and I are finalists.  If anybody is interested, the full story is linked below.  And if by some chance you think that a lifetime of dealing with my horrible cooking is a steep enough price to pay for a free wedding in Jamaica, please vote for us!

http://global.theknot.com/contests/...ntest/Story.aspx?EntryId=13276&FinalistId=101

Thanks,

Brian

Last edited: Jul 16, 2010
  2. mezzaluna

mezzaluna

Exp:
    Cook At Home
    Your story sounds a lot more exciting than ours- although we did meet in a video dating outfit. /img/vbsmilies/smilies/rolleyes.gif  We just celebrated our 18th anniversary. I wish you many happy years!

Mezzaluna

3. novicecook

novicecook

Exp:
    Can't boil water
    Thank you very much Mezzaluna.  Congratulations on your 18th anniversary and may you have many many more!

4. tamtam39

tamtam39

Exp:
    At home cook
    I think that there are no rules in cooking especially on a first date, because the main thing is being your real self. So keep it real and your date will surely appreciate all your efforts and most especially the food that you've prepared. Enjoy and happy eating! /img/vbsmilies/smilies/drinkbeer.gif

5. headless chicken

headless chicken

Exp:
    Line Cook
    Moral of the story: meet someone who can cook if you can't or meet someone who can't cook if you can. Either way, they'll leave you gasping for air! :D

6. petalsandcoco