How many of you have a degrees

Discussion in 'Professional Chefs' started by rocktrns, Feb 23, 2011.

1. rocktrns

rocktrns

Exp:
    Line Cook
    I would like to know what degrees do most of you Professional Chefs have.  I am a cook at a hotel,but i'm only 17,and Graduating high school i June and I'm trying to figure out what degree I should get.  Should I get a Associates or a Bachelors?  Should I take Culinary or Culinary Management.  I know some people work there way up,but I would like some advice.

2. gunnar

gunnar

Exp:
    Professional Chef
    I have been cooking for 7-8 years (longer depending on how you look at it ) and am finally going to get my AA/AS in Hotel and restaurant management and shoot for at least a CC in the ACF. These with my experience should give a nice leg up into the realm of Chef/Sous Chef. While BA's are nice I personally don't feel that they are neccessary in this field.

3. petemccracken

petemccracken

Exp:
    Professional Chef
    I have a B.S. in Ag Eng (1972) from Cal Poly SLO, but my undergraduate culinary degree is from MHC and my graduate degree is from SHK.

4. chrose

chrose

Exp:
    Professional Chef
    I got my AOS in 1989 which essentially means a degree in job. I could go out and get a job :)

My experience and ability then made me money (such as it was...)

5. chefbillyb

chefbillyb

Exp:
    Professional Chef
    I became a Chef and owner by being good at BS...............

6. alynch

alynch

Exp:
    Professional Chef
    A.S = All $hit

B.S = Bull $h1t

M.S = More $h!t

PhD = Piled Higher and Deeper

I have an A.S in Culinary Arts, as B.S in Nutrition and I will finish my Master's in Nutrition this spring

7. chefross

chefross

Exp:
    Former Chef
    I got an Associates in culinary arts from a technical college, then went on to get a Bachelors in hotel and restaurant management, but wait....there's more.....only a few credits more got me a Master's in vocational education to teach when I'm old and arthritic.