How are you preparing your turkey this year?

Discussion in 'Food & Cooking' started by nicko, Nov 16, 2009.

1. nicko

nicko Founder of Cheftalk.com Staff Member

Exp:
    Former Chef
    So everyone lets have it what are your plans for Turkey this Thanksgiving? Old faithful or are you trying something new.

I am thinking of doing a deep fried turkey since I have never done one before.

2. maryb

maryb

Exp:
    Semi pro/retired now
    Traditional roasted with stuffing. I make the stuffing with homemade stock and the turkey neck meat from making the stock. That was yesterdays project, I have 3 quarts of stock in the freezer and a gallon bag of neck meat.

3. nicko

Exp:
    Former Chef
    Mary do you stuff the bird or cook the stuffing separately?

4. cyberdoc

cyberdoc

Exp:
    Home Chef
    We're going unique this year. Coq au Vin using turkey, with a Johnny Cake based stuffing.

5. phatch

phatch Moderator Staff Member

Exp:
    I Just Like Food
    The usual. The holiday is for what the family asks for, and other times of year are for experimenting.

As experiments succeed, they get asked for at holidays so there is some culinary drift over time.

6. ishbel

ishbel

Exp:
    Cook At Home
    As a non-American - we don't celebrate Thanksgiving.... but I wish you all a wonderful family occasion!

7. boar_d_laze

boar_d_laze

Exp:
    Cook At Home
    As always: Two smoked turkeys, and a smoked salmon for the dinner. Also half of a third smoked turkey, so my Dad has a substantial amount of "leftovers."

BDL

8. ed buchanan

ed buchanan

Exp:
    Culinary Instructor
    All 56 of them will be roasted in our combi ovens and alto shams overnight. They are coming in from Carolina on this Thursday(28 crates). Have been saving bread and rolls for the last 3 weeks. 14 cases sweet potatoes, 300 pounds chef potatoes, 8 cases fresh cranberries. Baby onions, Fresh Brussel Sprouts and on and on.

9. ed buchanan

ed buchanan

Exp:
    Culinary Instructor