Home Cured Olives

Discussion in 'Food & Cooking' started by jock, Jan 25, 2002.

1. jock

jock

Exp:
    At home cook
    A friend who has an olive tree in her back yard gave me a few pounds of olives a few months ago. I decided to cure them in brine following instructions I found in a book of "lost arts". Some of the olives turned out a bit squishy and I'm told this means they are spoiled. I've never done this before and I'm not quite sure what to expect. Does anybody know if I can eat the squishy olives or am I about to poison my family?

Jock

2. athenaeus

athenaeus

Exp:
    At home cook
    Dear Jock

It's very difficult for olives to spoil.
    I don't know what method you used to cure them and I do not know what type of olives you used.
    But if squishy menas what my dictionnary suggets, soft and watery, then it's not a poison.
    Try something to bring them back.

Place them in a large bowl and "rinse" them with wine vinegar.
    Store them in a jar with olive oil.

Let me know if this was of some help. It's a pity to throw olives away...
    If you don't like them with vinegar, I can post you some recipe with olives.

:)

3. jock

jock

Exp:
    At home cook
    According to the instructions in the book I have, I soaked the olives in plain water for about 10 days. Then for a month, I soaked them in a brine solution (1 cup of salt per gallon of water) changing the brine once a week. They are now in a weaker brine solution until they are ready to eat (another month or two yet.) They are still a little bitter.
    Thanks for the advice. I will try it and let you know.
    What kind of olives? I don't know for sure. They are black, quite big and round. Kalmata perhaps?

Jock

4. athenaeus

athenaeus

Exp:
    At home cook
    Jock,

Did you do a curve on each one of them with a knife????

5. olive branch

olive branch

Hi Jock! I cured olives from my own trees last year for the first time and here's what I found out.