Hollandaise sauce advice

Discussion in 'Professional Chefs' started by chrisbristol, Dec 20, 2015.

1. chrisbristol

chrisbristol

Exp:
    Line Cook
    Hello

I wonder if someone could give me some advice on where hollandaise can go wrong and split.

I'm kind of self taught on hollandaise and have always been able to make it at home OK. The problem is when I make it at home it is obviously made in  a smaller quantity and I don't add as much butter as they say because that is just my preference. Obviously when I make it at work I have to make it in bugger batches and there is more chance of it splitting.

So just a few questions. When you add the butter to the hollandaise from what I gather the egg mix should be left warm. Is that right? I think mine split the other day because I took it of and got told to do something else and then came back to it and it cooled down to much. Also should the butter be warm when you add it?

Any other ways in which it might split? I know if I add the butter to fast it will.

2. chefbillyb

chefbillyb

Exp:
    Professional Chef
    The sauce thickens by emulsifying two fats. Both s/b be warm while whisking a steady stream of melted butter. I would follow the recipe of using the amount of butter needed for the recipe and also using a good quality butter. There could be up to 20% water is some store butter.

Last edited: Dec 20, 2015
    flipflopgirl likes this.
  3. chrisbristol

chrisbristol

Exp:
    Line Cook
    Yeah I always use good quality butter. I notice the difference. I do use the right amount at work(I do what I'm told) At home I just add as much as I like obviously it doesn't matter at home so much this thread is more about making sure it doesn't  split at work when I may get called on to another job. One thing I wondered is if the egg mixture cools down can you warm it through again before you add the butter or will that make it split?

4. linecook854

linecook854

Exp:
    Head Chef
    ChefBristol,