Holiday Roast(s) - Easy peasy or high risk?

Joined Dec 16, 2017
New poster here. I am an aspiring home chef and enjoy cooking for my family as well as entertaining. I am working on the menu for Christmas dinner for 16 people. For past Christmas dinners I have done filet mignon on the grill (which I am pretty competent at) as well as pork tenderloin roasts and other dishes throughout the years. However, with the number of guests this year I am thinking that a beef roast or two might be a good choice - and maybe not require as much attention as 16 individual steaks do. I'm considering doing a large tenderloin roast (~3.5 lbs) and then either a similarly sized rib roast, or maybe just two tenderloin roast. I like the idea of having two types of roasts to accommodate different tastes, but I don't want to make it too complicated. I prefer to stay pretty true to the cut when cooking beef dishes so generally just a touch of olive oil and some salt and pepper, though I will make a couple sauces to accompany the roasts in this case.

Anyway, although I have cooked a LOT of steak I have never really cooked a beef roast before so I am hoping for some encouragement, or fair warning, as to whether I should take it on for Christmas dinner or just stick to what I know. Don't necessarily need recipes or instructions (at least not yet), but just some general guidance. I know this all probably sounds pretty amateurish, but we typically go all out for Christmas dinner with high-grade cuts, so in addition to not wanting to disappoint the guests with a failed attempt, I also don't want to waste several hundred dollars worth of beef. Plus, I really strive for perfection when entertaining, so I don't want to disappoint myself with marginal results either. Any sage advice or words of wisdom?

Thank-you,

Matt

Joined Dec 18, 2010