Highest Possible Temp for Braising

Discussion in 'Food & Cooking' started by funkmonkey33, Nov 10, 2013.

1. funkmonkey33

funkmonkey33

Exp:
    Home Chef
    Hi Chefs and Foodies,

First time on the site, and my first post.  I've been a long time home chef and foodie for years.

I do a pretty mean braise.  Excellent beuff, and the best coq au vin you've ever tasted.  But it takes freakin' forever!  

I've heard different opinions on how rapidly the braising liquid should be bubbling.  Julia says it should be just barely moving, maybe 3-5 small bubbles a minute.  That translates into the lowest possible setting on my gas burner.  I've seen it done a little higher as well, more like a regular low heat, in which the braise was more rapidly moving, maybe 15-20 small bubbles in a minute.  

Generally, my braising times tend to take a lot longer than the recipe claims it will.  So I'm guessing I'm using too low a temp.  For example, Jaques boeuf bourguignon  recipe claims 90 minutes of braising time, using flatiron.  Now If I did that recipe I know it would take at least an hour longer than that.  

So how high can I go?  Of course, what I really want to know is how high can I go and still get a delicious, tender result? Oven or stovetop, I'm open.  

Thanks!

Aaron 

2. french fries

french fries

Exp:
    At home cook
    Don't go any higher. You want a simmer, not a rapid boiling. I braise with barely 3 bubbles. I've never made boeuf bourguignon with only flat iron, I use the whole chuck, but it takes me closer to 2h30, just like you. So it sounds to me like you're doing it right. 

On the other hand, coq au vin is quick. Once the chicken goes in the braising liquid it should be 20-30mn, unless you're actually using a "coq" (tough old rooster).