higher % cocoa solids in chocolate

Discussion in 'Pastries & Baking' started by angrychef, Sep 20, 2001.

1. angrychef

angrychef

I always use a chocolate with a minimum of 56-60% cocoa solids. A ganache made with equal proportions of this chocolate plus manufacturing cream comes out with the perfect glazing consistency. I recently tried a chocolate with 70%(i think) cocoa solids. I did my usual ganache recipe and it is way too viscous, I had to increase my proportion of cream and it turned out great. Also in its melted state it is too thick for dipping. My question is: when using a chocolate with a higher cocoa solids %, does one need to add a bit more cocoa butter to thin it out? Can you use oil? And is it more viscous because it has less sugar or less fat?

2. kimmie

kimmie

I'm no pro but I've used butter many times, maybe a bit more cream too. Seems to do the trick!

:rolleyes:

3. shroomgirl

shroomgirl

Exp:
    Professional Caterer
    My chocolate of preference is Valharona 70%....love it as flourless chocolate cake with ganauche.

4. w.debord

w.debord

I know what you mean. I prefer not to work with 70% myself. It just slowed me down adjusting. Truthfully I never found any real advantage to using it? The only places I can think of where it would be an advantage is in cookies with big choc. chunks or truffles and other candies....?

Just a guess, but it makes more sense to me that it's less fat, not less sugar. Its sweetness is the same as similar chocolates... it would have to be less cocoa butter which wouldn't affect the taste only the thickness in my opinion. Shortening or oil both work to thin. I've used oil in mousses and bavarians and gotten nice results. I never had cocoa butter available due to it's cost and availablity.

5. angrychef

angrychef