High Tea catering help

Joined Apr 3, 2008
Hi friends, I am co-hosting my dear friend's baby shower next month and since she loves Downton Abbey we are having a tea party. It is in the early afternoon 1-3pm. I am not very good at baking so I won't be responsible for much of the sweet stuff like scones etc. But I will take on the sandwich making. Is there any other savoury food that is served at tea? This is Brooklyn so it will also be chalk full of gluten despisers, allergies, etc.

If anyone has any ideas how to make this event special please help.

Joined Jun 23, 2015
petite fours can be savory or sweet. Base, glue, and a topping. Way outside of NYC we do deviled eggs, pimento cheese, croutons with Tapenade, and salad tomatoes stuffed with crab salad. You can offer vegan, non gluten, and allergy free versions of many good dishes. I'm not much on high tea so I haven't answered before this good luck with the party.

Joined Apr 3, 2008
I already have to buy so much for this shower I don't want to buy a book too, though the cost is not high.

Joined May 4, 2005
there are so many things you could do. Just google "finger sandwiches" or "tea sandwiches."

Smoked salmon, cucumber cups filled with cream cheese, curried chicken, ham and cheese, egg salad...

Joined Apr 3, 2008
Well yes, which sandwiches I should make is the least of my problems. I guess I want to know, is it customary to serve salad as well? I’ve never experienced a tea party and I don’t know what is appropriate aside from serving sandwiches, scones, and jams. Do I serve butter too? And salad and other side dishes?

Joined Oct 31, 2012
Unless you are serving British expatriates, I'd wager that none of the guests know either. Here's a link I found that may help. I apologize in advance if it doesn't work. I'm not so tech savvy. It seems a few sandwiches, some scones and sweets and a LOT of tea.
downtonabbeycooks.com/2012/05/22/online-guide-to-afternoon-tea/

Joined Jun 27, 2012