Hi all - an aspiring "good" home cook looking to learn what I need to learn

Joined Dec 21, 2021
Hi all,

Long time lurker so i finally decided to make an account. I'm an ok home cook in the UK, I did work in Kitchens throughout school so spent a solid 4/5 years working part time as a commis which taught me how to make let's say nice tasting food. I'm now getting a little more interested in food and interested in becoming let's say a really competent home cook. Specifically interested in learning the basics that a "classically trained" chef should know. I'm thinking sauces, some classical french cooking skills etc.

I've just bought a couple of well recommend books (the joy of cooking & Sauces by James Peterson) and am excited to read them (still in the post) but I'm now looking for a little advice. My plan at the moment is to pick a few dishes that require some of these more technical/classical skills and work my way through them. Does that sound like a good idea or would you advise some other way?

If this sounds like a good plan are there any dishes you'd recommend? I like everything the only constraint is my partner is Gluten Free so there's that!

Thanks,
Matt

Joined Jan 8, 2010
Welcome!
Nothing wrong with your plan.
Go for it and let us know.
Check out our monthly challenges as well. I've learned loads from them.
Feel free to participate and ask questions ;)

Joined Oct 9, 2008
Search for an old copy of Jacques Pépin, The Art of Cooking (2 vols). It didn't sell well, so it's uncommon but also inexpensive. He teaches classical technique via specific dishes. Clear, excellent pictures, nice food.

Joined Dec 21, 2021
Search for an old copy of Jacques Pépin, The Art of Cooking (2 vols). It didn't sell well, so it's uncommon but also inexpensive. He teaches classical technique via specific dishes. Clear, excellent pictures, nice food.
Very good to know. Will check it out shortly.

Joined Jan 8, 2010
I got it!
I think..
Just checked. I got "complete techniques"