Hey from Virginia

Discussion in 'New User Introductions' started by brian_a, Dec 26, 2009.

1. brian_a

brian_a

Exp:
    Cook At Home
    Hey Everyone!

I'm a home cook who really enjoys cooking for family and friends. I currently use a mix All-Clad Copper Core pans along with some other random ones gathered along the way. As far as cutlery goes, I use Wusthof. I don't know how much I'll be able to contribute here as I am very much in the learning process, but I hope I can take a bit away to use in my home cooking. Please bare with my questions as they might seem a little odd at times.

-Brian
    Manassas, VA

2. mezzaluna

mezzaluna

Exp:
    Cook At Home
    Welcome, Brian- you needn't worry about your level of expertise. I'm a home cook too, and I've learned SO much from everyone here, both professionals and home cooks. The professionals' forums are 'read only' for home cooks like us, but you're welcome to post in the general forums. There's a great deal of information here- years worth, which you can check with the search tool.

What do you most enjoy cooking? Are there regional or local specialties you like to prepare? What would you most like to learn more about? You'll be amazed by how much you can learn here!

Enjoy the site and the community.
    Regards,
    Mezzaluna

3. brian_a

brian_a

Exp:
    Cook At Home
    Mezzaluna,

Thanks for the welcome! My favorite thing to make is risotto, honestly. Something about it I just love. Like tonight, for example, I made a white butter truffle risotto topped with black truffles. Was to die for - at least my wife and I thought. Another thing I like is to do pan fried steaks. Sometimes in cast iron, sometimes with my all-clad (I've noticed a flavor difference myself, I don't know about anyone else.) Grilling them sometimes in the summer, of course, too, but something about being able to use the drippings to make a reduction is nice.