Hey Cchiu!

Discussion in 'The Late Night Cafe (off-topic)' started by greg, Nov 12, 2000.

1. greg

greg

Exp:
    Professional Chef
    Yes, I'm a cook by trade. 18 years in the business and counting. My question for you: What's your favorite search engine? My ISP's home page uses looksmart; I don't particularly like it. Alta Vista works better, but what gets the best results for you? For Nicko, if you read this, maybe you could have Cchiu write an article on how to use search engines and which ones to use. I think it would be very useful because sometimes you just don't have the time to wait for a response to a posted question. Boolean searches, what to type in and what not to type in; there's a lot more to the subject.

2. cape chef

cape chef

Exp:
    Professional Chef
    Greg, Try refdesk.com and copernic.com. copernic uses about 15 engines at once to find results.
    I'm sure cchiu will be the one to help
    cc

3. nutcakes

nutcakes

Greg, www.google.com is really great. It is very straightforward and you don't need to worry about boolean; I believe it assumes AND with your words, but it is as accurate as if I had specified quotes. And it is not junked up with a bunch of recommendations to buy stuff.

4. isa

isa

5. kylew

kylew

Exp:
    Home Chef
    I use 2; dogpile.com and askjeeves.com. They are both metacrawlers which means they go out and search multiple search engine databases. If I am looking for quick, dirty and voluminous responses I use dogpile. If I am looking for something a little more precise i uses askjeeves. The difference is that @ askjeeves you don'e need to know boolean logic from express chicken liver pate. You can a simple question such as "What is the proper way to make a bernaise sauce?" The results are presented in an easy to understand way.

6. mudbug

mudbug

Exp:
    Culinary Instructor
    Greg,

Wasn't ignoring you, there's a lot involved in searching properly even if you have the best search engine at your fingertips...