Helping out the new chef

Discussion in 'General Culinary School Discussions' started by chipshopman, Jul 15, 2018.

1. chipshopman

chipshopman

Exp:
    Professional Chef
    I have this problem, I am a knife nerd. I have literally a hundred carbon steel chefs knives, some of them I put new handles on and they go into my wrap others I buy and they aren't quite what I wanted. I tried ebay but i don't want to sell to strangers. I want to sell these tools to young chefs who otherwise would not be able to afford such a knife. The other thing is knives are personal and need to be tested before buying. I own a restaurant in Brooklyn with a kitchen as you need to test a few before you choose. I'm an old chef and restaurateur, it's not about the money, I bought them over the years not paying much and I'll cost the knife when I meet the chef means based. Its about giving back a bit to the trade that's supported me, I won't ship and even if that weren't the case I wouldn't break the rules of this site either so no personal messages, Is there a local NYC chef site of a place where young chefs BS . I want to see a young talented commis put that f dick, henkels or sabatier back where it should be. Not in some Yuppies kitchen draw. Help me out guys with a forum to meet chefs who need tools and need a break and I can maybe help with a antique knife that will last a professional chef his entire working life. Looks like a scam but at 53 just trying to help.

Attached Files:

drirene likes this.
  2. Pat Pat

Pat Pat

Exp:
    Chef Emeritus
    I wish you'd have worded your post better. A big rambling paragraph with a vague title is just very hard to read.

3. drirene

drirene

Exp:
    At home wannabe pastry chef
    Sounds to me like chipshopman has very many knives collected over the years and he is willing to give back to his trade by offering the right young chef the right knife at the right price. Did I hear you correctly chef?

4. foodpump

foodpump

Exp: