Help with sharpening

Joined Dec 18, 2016
Hi all.little introduction.i got some global knifes and Going to order a gesshin ginga :) and Iam also left handed

Recently I started learning to sharpen so I got some stones.

A king 250/1000 a global 1000 and a king 5000.i know they aren't the best but they were cheap.

I watched a lot of videos several weeks to start understand how to do it from some people I understood from IMHO that seemed good including Jon broida and a guy named ryky tran from YouTube.

serious not that Iam left handed and also I sharpen with only my left with the Japanese way.

So get in the subject I thought to sharpen first a small knife to see how it goes so I sharpened first my small Chefknife 13cm which was unsharpened 1.5 year.

I will post some photos and videos to tell me what I did wrong and how to fix it maybe.the knife seems sharper than it was when I got it tbh it can cut newspaper and shave also but I think the bevels aren't even.

Knife seems awesome when Iam rocking but e.g when I push cut some mushrooms I see that it haven't completely cut the mushroom from the bottom.the bevel and the mirror edge seems bigger from the left side of the knife than the right.can I fix this or it doesn't matter a lot?

Iam not a professional just a guy who love knives and cooking.

\Here are some pics and a small video to tell me your opinion

Joined Oct 9, 2008
It looks good. I'm concerned about the mushroom thing, but I don't quite understand what you're saying about that. Can you explain in more detail?

Joined Dec 18, 2016
My English aren't the best so give me a break.

I mean when Iam push cuting e.g. A mushroom or a tomato I make clean cuts but some or most of the pieces I. Cut are connected with each other from the bottom side.

Don't know if you understood it now.

Joined Apr 25, 2014