Chef Forum banner

Help with quantities

5K views 16 replies 12 participants last post by  aface4u 
#1 ·
Hello Everyone: I've been in this forum for a couple of months now; never participated though only read what you all post. I've been a Chef for a while now; i had my own restaurant for 7 years which I had to sell (with profit :)) because I became ill. Now I've started a catering business and I'm trying to learn as much as I can but my biggest problem has been quantities; I am cooking too much; I can't get the quantities right and I don't want to be short obviously, but I have lots of left overs. This is my question: If I have 50 ppl and 2 different meats how much of each meat should I cook? I ussually do 6oz per person but it seems too much. Any help will be greatly appreciate it.

Have a great day!

Luz

/img/vbsmilies/smilies/smile.gif

See less See more
#2 ·
hey, here is some quantities that always work for me:

Meats: dinner 8oz of meat combined. (approx. 1/2 chix breast and 4oz of brisket for example)

lunch 5-6 oz of meat

Sides: Potatoes and pastas1 hotel pan gets you 25-30 ppl

Salads: 160oz bowl full of salad gets you 15-20 ppl

you should also take into consideration if your serving out of the buffet or self serve.  when you serve your food tends to stretch.  i usually go a tad over on my portions just to avoid any issues.

good luck

#5 ·