Help with Alfredo for Large crowd?

Discussion in 'Food & Cooking' started by barbc who?, Jun 5, 2009.

1. barbc who?

barbc who?

Exp:
    Cook At Home
    :suprise: Oh no! This is my first time on the site. I have an important question don't know if this is where I ask it???. I am making Alfredo sauce for 36 people Sunday! I am concerned about the butter breaking after cooking, then transporting 30 minutes away and keeping warm. Any suggestions?

2. ed buchanan

ed buchanan

Exp:
    Culinary Instructor
    Make a real Alfredo and it can be made when you get there , Heavy cream, parm cheese, DROP OF GARLIC AND NUTMEG and an egg or 2. Real alfredo is not a bechamel or cream sauce. It is made in most good places a la minute. Just bring pasta precooked. Start your cream, cheese (the egg is the thickener beaten added last ) going in large saute pans and toss fettuccini . Thats It. Oh yes break up fettuccini before cooking so it is easier to handle when dishing out.:D Figure 5 to 6 people per pound of pasta.

king marti likes this.
  3. mezzaluna

mezzaluna

Exp:
    Cook At Home
    I'm glad Ed had a solution for you, barbc who? (Love that name!)

I'm moving this from the Welcome Forum (for introductions) to a cooking forum (for cooking questions). Let us know if you have questions about the forum; we'll be glad to help!

Good luck with your event.
    Regards,
    Mezzaluna

4. chrislehrer

chrislehrer

Exp:
    Cook At Home
    All true, Ed, but as a home cook I for one would not serve 36 people Alfredo that way. I know, it's the right way, but I'd be worried about the eggs not cooking sufficiently.