help - wheat free, gluten free diet

Discussion in 'Food & Cooking' started by katbalou, Dec 8, 2005.

1. katbalou

katbalou

Exp:
    Professional Chef
    to all the great bakers and chefs on the board - i need help. i've finally discovered that i'm intolerant to wheat and boy, does it bite. means no pasta, wheat bread. many cereals, vinegar and lord knows what else - seems like wheat is in everything. my whole diet must change (And my 16 yr. old son - try telling him no squishy white bread!) so i need help on this very challenging diet. thankfully my background is what it is - i don't know how i would cope if i didn't know how to boil water.
    so i'm looking for all kinds of substitutions, i've found a few on other boards - but everything tastes like ____. there must be some way to make things more palatable.
    thanks in advance,
    kathee

2. botanique

botanique

Exp:
    Other
    Kat, so sorry!!! Barooooo!:(

You are going to be looking at fresh vegies, lots of salads (no crutons ;-), and whole protiens. I'll dig up some recipes for you. I hope you like cheese! B

3. even stephen

even stephen

I feel your pain,

In addition to a gluten intolerance, I also am lactose intolerant.
    I tried to stay off all those foods and made it for about 5 months.
    Then one night I was out and a basket of fresh bread landed on
    the bar where my wife and I were eating and I just lost control.
    I almost ate the basket. Then I found out Bourbon was off limits.
    I just couldn't live like that. I have a glass of bourbon every evening
    and half and half in my coffee in the morning. I also consume any and
    everything with flour. Just plan for a little more time in the bathroom
    every morning. I find it helps to eat as little as possible in the daytime
    hours and eat only one big meal, in the middle of the evening. Beware
    of Possible problems with your colon. You'll find colonoscopies less and