Help on making this a good career

Discussion in 'Professional Chefs' started by grasshoppa, Oct 19, 2010.

1. grasshoppa

grasshoppa

Exp:
    Professional Chef
    I've been working as a line cook professionally for a couple months now (6 or 7 I think) and I can tell that this is the career for me. The chef I work with says he's had people out of the CIA that weren't as good as me (not that I'm big-headed - I have a seemingly endless amount to learn - it just shows that I guess I have some promise) and I know I have the work ethic to make it in any kitchen. But I wanted advice on how best to make the step into fine-dining. I'm not ready yet, but I am getting a new job when I move at the start of next month, and I want to get the most out of it, while keeping my eye on future goals. What is the best way to prepare myself for trying to get into a fine-dining restaurant two or three jobs down the line? I try to focus on plating things cleanly and nicely (although, in the current setting the owner is much more concerned with speed than appearance) and I have developed my knife skills so that I am comfortable,accurate, and fast, with most prep work, but I wanted to know what other steps I can and should take in order to be as qualified as i can be. Anyway, thanks for your help /img/vbsmilies/smilies//smile.gif...

2. tomasil

tomasil

Exp:
    Home Chef