Help, I'm new to Souther style foods need help

Discussion in 'Food & Cooking' started by pozopik, Feb 7, 2002.

1. pozopik

pozopik

Hello cook's
    My name is Paul, I live in a small town in central florida and I just opened my 2nd restaurant and i really need everyones help.
    The problem is the following, My style of cooking for many years has been a mix of Latin and French cuisine, In this restaurant that I just open up my clients are diffrent then my first restaurant, and they are more interested in southern cooking & caffetiria style foods, so you guy's can imagen what I'm going through. Please I need suggestions and titles of books you guy's may Know

Thank you

Paul Pozo CCC

2. shawtycat

shawtycat

Exp:
    Lesse....southern food. Oh. Comfort food.

Souther Fried Chicken
    Corn Bread
    Collard Greens
    Buttery Grits for Breakfast
    Baby Back Ribs
    Banana Caramel Pudding with those Vanilla Wafers.

How about Sylvia's Soul Food Cookbook? or The New Southern Basics: Traditional Southern Food for Today?

Dont really know what else to tell you. I usually just cook but I grew up with that stuff.

3. pete

pete Moderator Staff Member

Exp:
    Professional Chef
    Here are a few cookbooks you can use, encompassing all the themes of southern cooking from low-country to cajun

Anything by Paul Pruduomme
    Anything by Natalie Dupree

both Commander's Palace cookbooks

Savoring Savannah

New Low-Country Cooking by marvin Woods

anything by Louis Osteen

Those are the ones I can think of now, but there are quite a few more. Any larger bookstore with a good selection of American Regional cookbooks will have numerous books
    If you need anymore help, or would like some ideas about menu, please feel free to ask and I will elaborate.

4. suzanne

suzanne

Exp:
    Food Editor
    Dori Sander's Country Cooking.