HELP! I got lost in my chef uniform!!

Discussion in 'General Culinary School Discussions' started by aimsieg, Jan 23, 2006.

1. aimsieg

aimsieg

Exp:
    Professional Pastry Chef
    hello all! this is my first post here, and may i first say that i am absolutely thrilled at what i am seeing. there is so much advice, encouragement, and information here!! anyway, i am a new culinary student and am having some trouble with my uniform. i am a fairly small girl i suppose and the smallest size my school carries is WAY too big. i feel as if i am swimming in it!! does anyone happen to know of a way to shrink it a few sizes? fortunately, my aunt owns a textile/healthcare uniform shop so i will be able to find a proper fitting uniform soon, but i need to get some good use out of the one i had to buy at "college store" value. i am concerned about my comfort and most importantly my safety while wearing this in the kitchen. any ideas??

2. laprise

laprise

Exp:
    Professional Chef
    How small can you be:) In a sunny day, do you make a shadow:)

No really, shop at Chefwear.com, I just bought a jacket for $70USD and it fit perfectly...

If you are size 6 or less for example, it's fairly unique in the kitchen to have skinny people, so you will always have the problem. I am not saying you should start eating, small is Ok!

An over large jacket can be dangerous, as the sleeves can be deeped in hot oil for example...

Good luck

3. thetincook

thetincook

Exp:
    Line Cook
    You should check out www.kingmenus.com you can get very nice jackets in long or short sleeves for around $12 USA. Stains wash out nicely and cheap enough to replace if they get too bad.

4. panini

panini

Exp:
    Owner/Operator
    aim,
    get into you aunts whites asap. You can always resell the ones you have to other students. Trust me. you will have an opportunity. Other students will ruin uniforms right off the bat.