Help!!! How to decide on a culinary school??

Discussion in 'General Culinary School Discussions' started by beccas, Oct 8, 2001.

1. beccas

beccas

Can anyone help me?? I am a student at the University of GA and have decided on going to culinary school. I've been talking with a lot of people in the industry and have a lot of advice on the "best schools" to go to. However, I'm still not sure about where I should go. Currently, I'm looking at J&W, Western Culinary Insitute and CCA. If anyone has some helpful advice, it would be greatly appreciated! Thanks alot!
    Rebecca Stephens

2. cape chef

cape chef

Exp:
    Professional Chef
    Hi Rebecca,And welcome to cheftalk.
    You have come to the right place.

First I would advise you to read as many posts on in this forum as you can,Theres a great deal of imfo in them.

There are so many Culinary schools out there these days it can make your head spin.

I am a big fan of J&W as well as the N.E.C.I in vermont.

Rebecca,What is the driving force behind you wanting to go to Culinary school?

If you are looking at the C.C.A in California I would suggest you also check out C.I.As campus in Napa Valley.

They have a fantastic program and the perfect enviorment for study.

Hey Greg..what do you think?
    cc
    PS Greg moderates this forum.

3. theloggg

theloggg

Exp:
    Other
    I recommend a school that has a
    restaurant(s) servicing the public and/or a school in an area populated with good restaurants. I'm finding a lot of my experience will come from what I learn outside the classroom.