Help!!! How to decide on a culinary school??

Joined Oct 8, 2001
Can anyone help me?? I am a student at the University of GA and have decided on going to culinary school. I've been talking with a lot of people in the industry and have a lot of advice on the "best schools" to go to. However, I'm still not sure about where I should go. Currently, I'm looking at J&W, Western Culinary Insitute and CCA. If anyone has some helpful advice, it would be greatly appreciated! Thanks alot!
Rebecca Stephens

Joined Jul 31, 2000
Hi Rebecca,And welcome to cheftalk.
You have come to the right place.

First I would advise you to read as many posts on in this forum as you can,Theres a great deal of imfo in them.

There are so many Culinary schools out there these days it can make your head spin.

I am a big fan of J&W as well as the N.E.C.I in vermont.

Rebecca,What is the driving force behind you wanting to go to Culinary school?

If you are looking at the C.C.A in California I would suggest you also check out C.I.As campus in Napa Valley.

They have a fantastic program and the perfect enviorment for study.

Hey Greg..what do you think?
cc
PS Greg moderates this forum.

Joined Sep 28, 1999
I recommend a school that has a
restaurant(s) servicing the public and/or a school in an area populated with good restaurants. I'm finding a lot of my experience will come from what I learn outside the classroom.