Help from cheese experts?

Discussion in 'Food & Cooking' started by ziggy, Feb 19, 2002.

1. ziggy

ziggy

I'm workign on a new recipe...grapefruit risotto. So far it seems its not a hopeless concept but I can't seem to find the just right cheese to finish it...

I'm not a cheese expert and don't know my way beyond the well-known varieties...brie and chevre have been the best bets so far but not quite right, I don't think...perhaps something more mellow or smoked to balance the grapefruit?

Anyone familiar with cheeses that might have a suggestion?

Thanks! :)

2. shroomgirl

shroomgirl

Exp:
    Professional Caterer
    Whoa, grapefruit risotto?!!!! zest , onions, arborio, Liquid????,
    folded in fruit, tarragon or thyme, maybe aged Gouda
    ~creamy would be a camembert or triple cream, or mascarpone...
    What are you serving with it? Boy blow my mind concept.....this one is trully original.

3. pete

pete Moderator Staff Member

Exp:
    Professional Chef
    Like shroomgirl said, an aged Gouda, or maybe a cave-aged emmental (sp?). You need something with a nutty flavor component to it, I think. What are you serving this with? What is the rationalization behind this? Are you using zest, juice, or segments?

4. ziggy

ziggy

a tree full of grapefruit in the backyard! :lol: I love citrus and love to play with it...great yield on the grapefruit tree this year so have been playing with things to do with grapefruit...

thanks for the suggestions!
    smoked or aged gouda and either a jarlsberg or emmantaler were going to be my next tries so I guess i'm at least thinking correctly in trying to balance the flavors...

I'm using shallots, arborio, chicken stock, grapefruit juice(and some zest), champagne, and some sort of cheese...i was going to use thyme but found some summer savory at Whole Foods yesterday so tried that.