Hello

Discussion in 'New User Introductions' started by wildboar, Nov 25, 2009.

1. wildboar

wildboar

Exp:
    Cook At Home
    I just found this forum today, and it looks like a good one. I'm a home cook with no formal training, just a couple dozen cooking classes offered by local cooks and a kitchen store. I tend to favor Italian food (my User ID may give some insight to my favorite of all); mainly rustic and simple. My wife is the same, and she is also the baker of the house.

We host a handful of dinners and parties each year, and generally pick a theme that forces us out of our normal comfort zone -- such as French for our upcoming Christmas party.

Between the two of us we have enough pots, pans, knives, etc. to stock 3 kitchens, but we are always looking to improve on the items we have.

I look forward to learning a lot from this site!

David

2. ishbel

ishbel

Exp:
    Cook At Home
    Hello - and welcome to ChefTalk!

We have all levels of culinary ability here - and from all around the globe - from those just starting out on their culinary journey to masterchefs.

I hope you will make the time to read some of the fascinating articles on here, and to view some of the wonderful photography, too.

Feel free to add to posts you find interesting, or start your own. All we ask is that you respect that the professional area is read-only for us amateur cooks!

I have been on lots of cookery courses, too - from Tuscany and Liguria to Provence, from London to Stirling and a couple of places in Ireland, too.

3. mezzaluna

mezzaluna

Exp:
    Cook At Home
    Hello David, and welcome! Does "NoVa" mean Northern Virginia? If so, maybe you have access to wild boar and can make Italian dishes which call for "cinghale". You certainly seem like an adventurous cook and diner; this is the place for you.