Hello! This looks like a really neat forum :)

Joined Aug 24, 2018
Hi. I'm Jonathan. I'm from Michigan, currently in South Carolina...I'm nothing more than a home cook that samples food from amazing restaurants as if it was my religion! :) I'm always aspiring to make amazing food, but don't have many resources in my area to learn from.

I have a deep love for art and culture. I work as a professional musician and studio engineer. I see there are a lot of experienced pro chefs and restaurateurs on this site, I hope I can still ask you guys a few questions! Looking forward to getting to know some of you guys :)

Joined Oct 1, 2006
Welcome to CT Jon!

Are you a yooper?

You can absolutely get some help here with cooking related stuff! Cooking has a lot of parallels with music. You build a repertoire of skills starting with basics like ingredient knowledge and techniques. You wouldn't ask a beginner musician just learning an instrument to play a Lydian circle of fifths in 7... I think learning how to deal with onions is like learning the names of the notes in a scale. Virtually every cuisine on the planet uses onions making it one of the most common ingredients in savory foods. Ok, I'll stop the analogies!

There are so many variables please be specific with your questions, if possible.

We could start with helping improve your favorite meal...

Joined Aug 24, 2018
Hi SGM :)

I see now that there are other food hobbyists on this site. I realized after looking around a bit a that as I don't post something like 'help me understand my can opener' in the professional section I should be fine lol.

I think it was a good idea that this site set up a pro section and a general questions section. That way one group doesn't get intimidated and the other get annoyed. I won't bother those guys unless I have some type of question that you'd have to be a pro chef to be able to comment on.

Joined Aug 24, 2018