hello, I'm new!

Discussion in 'New User Introductions' started by betheeo, Dec 31, 2001.

1. betheeo

betheeo

Hello everyone, I am new here, and probably one of the younger ones I'm sure. I love cooking and would love become a chef and own my own restaurant and thought I would see what you all had to say about your experiences so far. I'm a junior in highschool and the big question of what i am going to do with my life has suddenly become the focus of many of my conversations. I have always had a passion for cooking~it relaxes me and makes me feel so good to see other people enjoying my meals. Anyway, that aside, I just was wondering what you all had to say. I really want to go to school somewhere here in CA and then possibly go to the Culinary institute in New York, but I dont really know much about it. Where did you all go and how were your experiences? I would love to hear your stories--i'm just beginning to explore my options and would love to get some advice. Thanks for your time!

2. momoreg

momoreg

Exp:
    Professional Pastry Chef
    It's nice to have you here, bettheo.

There are quite a few high school students who have come here asking the same questions. I suggest you check out the students forum, where you'll find lots of advice on schools, and cooking as a career, in general. As long as you know what the realities of the business are, you can make a sound decision on whether it's the right choice for you. Most of us who stay in the business are not in it for the big money or glamour or fame. A lot of people misunderstand that it is not that at all for most of us. But if you simply love to cook, like you said, than this may be a perfect career for you. BTW, CIA also has a school in California (Greystone). Good luck, and we look forward to more posts from you.

3. cape chef

cape chef

Exp:
    Professional Chef
    Hi Betheeo,