Hello from Wisconsin

Discussion in 'New User Introductions' started by bloodymary, May 10, 2017.

1. bloodymary

bloodymary

Exp:
    Line Cook
    I am from Wisconsin. I am a line cook. I currently work at two restaurants. I'm doing what I love, but it's sure not easy. This summer will be tough starting with Mothers Day on Sunday.

I have a confession. I'm pissed off at the lead cook at my day job. He and I both know I'm as skilled and qualified as he is to run the kitchen, which is a problem. Ever since I started he's been trying to push me into quitting to protect his job as lead cook.

The last person quit and the restaurant had to close temporarily before I was hired on. That's how bad it is to work with him.

He is hyper controlling and has to do everything himself and wont allow me to take the lead when we work together on weekends. I have lead in the kitchen on Tuesday and Thursday. I could certainly handle the grill alone without him and take an order or two without him being in total control of every hairy detail. Therein lies the problem. We are not a team.

He does all kinds of petty things to try to make me absolutely miserable at work. I.E. the plates that are different (multiple) colors must be stacked in order of color. Only he can do prep. Only he can make goulash. Chili. Baked chicken. No one else is qualified. I have to work with the crap knives and equipment and he has the nice tools that can't be touched. It's his kitchen. I mean come on. I'm surprised he doesn't take a piss and every corner to mark his territory.

My only issue really is that my daughter is having surgery on the 18th and he wont switch days with me because only he cleans the fryers and only on Fridays. Can't possibly do it on Thursday. He just wont let me do it, even though its stupid easy. I just let him do it because if he insists on doing that nasty job, he can just have it all to himself.