Hello from Austin

Discussion in 'New User Introductions' started by kronin323, Apr 14, 2018.

1. kronin323

kronin323

Exp:
    15 yr Hospitality Professional (retired), current Home Cook
    Howdy y'all...

I stumbled across this forum in a google search and thought I'd hang around a bit and see what's what.

I am an amateur cook. Been doing it a while. Was a bachelor until my mid-30s and the single life helped motivate me to be able to put a decent meal on the table. Now married for a decade and with two kids, I do all the cooking. Self-studied Julia Child's stuff to get a handle on the classical techniques. I've got a decent reputation among friends and family but all-said I'm just a home cook and there's always more to learn.

Professionally I did spend 15 years in the full-service restaurant industry but most of that was FOH/Mgt/Corporate. I was not a chef or a cook. I was food manager certified by the county and I did go through a couple of weeks of BOH training, doing prep and working different line positions, as part of a program trying to enable mgt to pitch in in a pinch but that was minimal, just some exposure to the basics. I left the industry 10 years ago and have no interest in going back, am happy with my home kitchen.

I'm a cast iron enthusiast, have a decent collection of vintage user pieces as my main go-to. When cast iron is not appropriate, I have a pretty complete set of Cuisinart Multi-clad Pro. I'm done with non-stick ano aluminum.

I'm not really a dessert guy, more into the savory. So I don't bake much, oven primarily used for roasting meat and vegetables. Carbon steel wok for stir fry. Gas and charcoal Weber grills and a Weber Smokey Mountain.

Haven't really done much sous vide but I'm interested in expanding into that at some point.

Thanks for reading my ramble...

2. sgsvirgil

sgsvirgil

Exp:
    Retired Owner/Operator
    Hi kronin and welcome to CT! :)