Hello, again

Joined May 30, 2015
Hey guys, I'm back. I was a member here years ago (seems most of my old posts are gone now, probably purged for server space, but no big deal) but left the food industry near the end of 2016. I kept up with the forum for a bit afterwards, but gradually grew disconnected from my culinary roots until about a month ago when I took a position as a garde manger.

My culinary bio:
Growing up, I always wanted to be a chef. It was my life's dream. We didn't have Food Network when I was a kid, but we did have PBS - Chef Pasquale, Wok with Yan, Yan Can Cook & Graham Kerr. When I graduated high school, I got a scholarship to study journalism. Not wanting to turn down a free education and having no money for culinary school, I decided to become a journalist. After about a year working in radio news, I got laid off when the station changed formats from news talk to R&B. I took a job as a catering assistant and did that for about a year. I got a better offer from a nearby grocery store to become a butcher, and so I worked with the old guys mostly cleaning shop but learning bits and pieces until I learned enough that they started letting me work solo and run the shop when they weren't there. After doing that for a while, a job came open in the same grocery store for a bakery assistant which paid more money, so I transferred and followed the same path (cleaning & learning for about 6 months) before I got promoted to a full-time baker. When I became a baker, my employer paid for me to take a cake decoarting class, and they also contracted with a supplier that did bi-annual seminars/workshops and came to your bakery once a year to train employees one-on-one. I did that for nearly 5 years and loved every minute of it. However, as many bakers will tell you, it is a dying profession in many ways. The store I worked at decided to go the route of par-baked frozen loaves that only needed to be heated up, and no longer required the services (nor was willing