Have you ever....

Joined Dec 8, 1999
Have you ever made something that was soooo good you felt that you had gone outside yourself and some higher power had taken over? A couple of weeks ago, one of the owners had their holiday party at our place. We use a cabernet demi on our steaks, and NY strip was one of the items on that banquet. I've made this sauce many times before, always with good results. This time, though, it was unbelievable. Complex, rich, perfect texture and seasoning. Words couldn't do it justice. I'm a decent enough cook, but I can't help but believe that something else was at work with me that day. Anybody else, or am I just getting crazy?

Joined Jul 24, 2001
Nice thread Greg.

maybe they were the elfs that put their finger in your pan ;)

I am waiting to read what the other chefs will post!!

Joined Nov 19, 1999
I've had days like that. It seems like you can't do anything wrong in the kitchen on those days, but then we have those 'other' ones. At least, I do. :D What did you do to your New York strip steaks?

Joined Mar 4, 2000
That makes up for all the days when you burned yourself, dropped things, forgot something in the oven...

I've had days like that, too. I love when I make a recipe, and it yields EXACTLY the amount that I need! Or when I'm not quite sure if an experiment is going to work at all, and it's amazing.:bounce:

isa

Joined Apr 4, 2000
On some days ingredients have a way of coming together, and the final result is out of this world.

Joined Nov 20, 2000
Quite often I've had days that went well and everything was perfect But as the post asked, a dish that was perfect. Yes I have had one that stands out to me. I posted it in this months forum, but I didn't realize I was limited in text so it didn't all come out.
I had made a special, not on the menu, dinner for my sister and bro-in-law wedding anniversary at the fine dining restaurant I used to work in. It was the soup course.