have a mac mth 80, been offered great deal on miyabi 5000mcd 67...but i'm not a pro chef

Joined May 20, 2018
i have mostly german (Wusthof) knives...recently got back into knives, took a 2 hr whetsone shaprening class (loved it) and also bought a bunch of naniwa pro stones...so i further splurged on picking up a Mac mth 80 chef's 8'' recently due to all the kudos I've read on it (got it for a great price).

but just yesterday I came across a person selling a mint Miyabi 5000 mcd 5000 67 (black ash handle) for a fab (2/3 off) price ....looked at some youtube vids on it...wow it that thing razor sharp (angles 9-12 degrees?).

but my question:
i'm no pro chef...how sharp and practical a knife would i need beyond a mac?
and my further worry on this miyabi: having a rockwell hardness of 67 it's blade would be more brittle...plus harder to sharp (which i'd have a pro do anyway...i'm too green with sharpening...wouldn't even touch my mac knife yet).
it's one of those things where i'm at ''want vs need'' on the Miyabi.
can anyone relate?

Joined May 20, 2018
i have talked to seller extensively...he is going back to henkells as he feels this knife too light for him.
he has receipt...is legit.

Joined Nov 15, 2012
I understand that the 5000mcd 66/67 is actually zdp-189 according to this reliable source:
http://zknives.com/knives/kitchen/ktknv/henckels/miyabi5000mcdslc240.shtml
You definitely don't want to handle the sharpening here yourself at this time.

The 63 is of R2/SG2 steel, which would be far more suitable to a beginner sharpener with meager tools. It sharpens easy enough.

Both of these steel are prone to chipping and should be given first class wood or the soft synthetic cutting boards like high-soft.

You say you're interested in the 67, so I'll address that as best I can. More than a few folks have complained we should spend more time answering peoples questions rather than offering alternate avenues of possible interest.