Hard work, does it pay off?

Discussion in 'Professional Chefs' started by Frenchy_UK, Jun 13, 2018.

1. Frenchy_UK

Frenchy_UK

Exp:
    10 years
    Hi people, new to the site and very new to FRESH food cooking. I have over 10 years experience in branded restaurants using mainly microwaves and combiovens with pre made ingredients and meals. I worked my way up to running my own kitchen, however now I am starting over in a fresh food enviroment as s commis.

I am very new to it and I am worried I won't have the creativity and palette to combine different foods for different tastes etc. I know I can cook and get down with the best on the line. Speed isn't an issue and quality isn't, I will send out food to 100% of what it's ment to look and taste like as shown by the sous and head chef. However my question is can you be successful in the kitchen industry without being creative and creating your own dishes.

Don't get me wrong I don't want to be a restaurant owner chef, I just want to be one of the hardworking guys behind the executive.

2. someday

someday

Exp:
    Professional Chef
    Yes, especially if you don't want to be an executive chef responsible for a menu. If you only work under other chefs, all you really have to do is replicate their vision for food the way they want it. Hard work never goes out of style. Congrats for taking on the challenge of working in a scratch kitchen.

flipflopgirl likes this.
  3. redbeerd cantu

redbeerd cantu

Exp:
    St. Philip's College Culinary Arts (AAS, Cum Laude), International Kitchens
    He's back...

Ramsay Facepalm.png

drirene likes this.
  4. someday

someday

Exp:
    Professional Chef
  5. kronin323

kronin323

Exp:
    15 yr Hospitality Professional (retired), current Home Cook
    In this context, please define "successful". What are your personal success criteria?

6. chefross

chefross

Exp:
    Former Chef
    The title of this thread says it all. "Hard work, does it pay off?"