Greetings from Cleveland!

Joined Jun 24, 2010
Hi everyone! 

I'm Crazy Corey! I'm very excited that I joined this site; I've been looking at different threads and realized that this place could be very helpful for me to learn all I can about cooking in a restaurant.

I just moved to Cleveland Heights recently from Upstate New York, where  I have been cooking for different restaurants on and off for about five years. I started off in the restaurant business seven years ago as a dishdog when I was 15, and due to my great work ethic and eagerness to learn, I quickly moved up to prep, and eventually line cook.

Although the kitchen is usually very stressful, especially on weekends when everyone else I know is having fun, I still love the job and the adrenaline rush that comes when I get into a groove.

I love cooking, and most of all, food, However I really need to expand my knowledge and skills. I was never formally trained, and most places I worked they expected me to know all about cooking right off the bat. Therefore in many cases I was forced to learn through trial and error, which isn't a bad thing, but now I feel like I am really good at some things but terrible at others.

Anyways.  I will start posting all the time and hopefully make some new friends and learn some new stuff in the process.

I'm looking forward to meeting you all!

Last edited:
Joined Aug 29, 2000
Hi Crazy Corey! Welcome to Chef Talk. It sounds like you've amassed a pretty good foundation for kitchen work. My own brother started as a bus boy/dish dog at about the same age. He is the proud owner of a very successful bistro, which is in its 20th+ year. He worked for several years and in his early 20s went to culinary school. It made a difference for him, as he set his sites on fine/'gourmet' dining.