GRAIN MILLS/Homemade Flour

Joined Aug 4, 2000
Anyone ever had experience using a grain mill? Is there an improvement in flour (bread) flavor over storebought flour? :confused:

Joined Oct 5, 2001
Dear kokopuffs:

I have been using the same flour mill for the last ten years. It is made by Kenwood and it works as an attachement to the Kenwood KM800 mixer that I have. This machine has worked perfectly for me. I wouldn't consider anything else. I use it twice every day.

Freshly ground flour retains its nutrients much better than prepackaged ones that you buy in the market. I have found it also to be better because I can control the coarse of the flour and it allows me also to experiment with different mixes.
:)

Joined Mar 13, 2001
Has anyone had experience with the Kitchenaid one? I suppose it's quite similar to papa's attachment for the Kenwood KM800 mixer/B] isn't it?

[ May 29, 2001: Message edited by: Kimmie ]

isa

Joined Apr 4, 2000
I would love to have the grain mill. I wonder if it is easy to find grains to mill.

Joined Aug 4, 2000
Iza:

Whole, unground grains, can be found at your local health foods store. Check under health food and organic foods in the Yellow Pages.

Joined Aug 4, 2000
To all:

Grain mills can be purchased new/used at the EBAY online auction. I've had great luck with EBAY.

[ June 03, 2001: Message edited by: kokopuffs ]

Joined May 11, 2001
I've been doing research on attachments for my new Kenwood mixer and pricing out the attachments. The grain mill is on sale at Amazon.com for $59.99 (regular is $94.45). I was tempted to buy it because it's such a good price, but I was having a hard time imagining myself using it. I think I will buy it now after reading this post.

Papa: do you have any of the other attachments? If so, how do you like them?

Joined Oct 5, 2001
Dear Risa:

I love my kenwood and its attachements. If you go to Amazon.com you can read my review of the Kenwood KM800 and of the attachements that I have purchased for it.