Got a little beef with some beef

Joined Jan 17, 2018
Got a question for you beef experienced folk.

I’ve been cutting beef for nearly 10 years now and I’ve peeled and cut hundreds and hundreds of beef tenderloin.

The vast majority of them are a light red color, but some of them are a really deep dark red....almost purple. Fresh out of the factory vacuum-seal. What’s the difference?

phatch

Staff member
Joined Mar 29, 2002
Oxidation. The more purple color is generally fresher, or at least packed into the cryovac faster.

phatch

Staff member
Joined Mar 29, 2002
Last edited:
Joined Sep 9, 2018
Purchased a whole beef tenderloin (that was not frozen) and sliced it into 1 inch steaks and froze half and kept out the other half in fridge to prove to myself that frozen meat was tougher. The frozen meat was definitely tougher and darker. The primary reason that butchers use potassium nitrate on meat is that it make it bright red, which usually indicates fresher, or that it has been treated with potassium nitrate. Human consumption of nitrates, which are converted to nitrites over time, have been determined to be carcinogenic. Fresher is better.

Joined Jan 17, 2018
Thank you guys for all the info!! There is absolutely no doubt that beef is tougher out of the freezer! Even ground beef has a slightly chewier texture out of the freezer. As always, y’all are awesome and a wealth of knowledge . Thanks!

Joined Mar 1, 2017
Actually, most beef color is generally the same. What changes with the type of feed is the color and texture of the fat. :)

Joined Jul 13, 2012
The piece on the right looks grained to me and the left grass fed and finished. I prefer a grained meat to an all grass fed one.

Joined Sep 5, 2008
The piece on the right looks grained to me and the left grass fed and finished.
I would say it's the opposite: grass fed beef is normally darker than grain fed. Here's an example:

Joined Jul 13, 2012