Go to school, or just hit the books??

Joined Jan 9, 2002
I have no plans to pursue a degree in culinary arts- my greatest aspiration is to be a mother (which I am twice over) and have a small family farm.

I love to cook and I've been thinking seriously about taking some culinary courses at the local college, but I'm wondering if I might get more for my dollars if I buy some really high-quality cooking books (with more than just recipes).

Opinions?

Joined Dec 4, 2001
roon, I am a self taught cook (not a professional) and my sources have been wide and varied.
Books are good. You can pick up some gems of information and techniques from watching the likes of Jaque Pepin on TV. You can ask the dozens of excellent and talented people on this site for advice and information. Much of my knowlege comes from trial and error over the years. I believe that understanding food (food science) is essential to aquiring a standard above that of the average home cook. There are books available for that too.
But you know what? I'd give anything to go back 30 years and get a formal training in the culinary arts. As much as I know, I am painfully aware of what I don't know.
I know you said that you are not looking for a carrer in the business. So maybe you could look into short (weekend) courses to add to your knowledge base. You can learn a lot from books and other resources but to be taught by a professional is a whole other experience.
Good luck whatever you decide.

Jock:)

Joined Feb 17, 2001
Roon, I too am a mom twice over. I do want to do this professionally, however. But, I have decided that even if that doesn't happen, I am still glad I am taking these courses. One of the most important thing we have learned is costing recipes. I am using some of this information (philosophy of it really) in my household budget now, and I don't think I ever would have gotten that from just the books.

Joined Feb 17, 2001
(Sorry about that - hit submit instead of preview!)