Gluten free fillings...

Discussion in 'Pastries & Baking' started by salsaman42, Jan 9, 2010.

  1. salsaman42

    salsaman42

    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    10
    Exp:
    Cook At Home
    Hi all, I have a bride with celiac's disease (no gluten). I normally use the Henry & Henry sleeve fillings. The box says they contain modified food starch, which sounds like they are not gluten free. Anyone know how to make a filling with no gluten? It will be for a small tier of the cake, the rest of it will be a regular cake.
     
  2. gunnar

    gunnar

    Messages:
    1,447
    Likes Received:
    47
    Exp:
    Professional Chef
    really? thats easy. My wife is gluten Intolerant (not celiac she just gets bloated and has headaches it ain't gonna kill her) but i have started using either corn starch or rice flour for thickener or sauces and such.

    any fruit filling is totally available for her pleasure

    basic list would go

    fruit
    saute with sugar and water till glazed and yummy
    add slurry of cornstarch and water
    done

    puree and strain before slurry if smoother texture is desired

    classic custards don't use flour
    what is the filling for?
     
  3. katbalou

    katbalou

    Messages:
    589
    Likes Received:
    12
    Exp:
    Professional Chef
    if the filling is made in the US, the modified food starch will say if it contains wheat. what are you making her tier out of? don't forget about cross contamination issues when decorating.
    feel free to PM me if you need further help, i've been gluten-free for quite a while now.
    kathee
     
  4. kathleensanders

    kathleensanders

    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    10
    Exp:
    Home Chef
    Gluten comes from other sources besides wheat. Other grains off limits to a Celiac are rye, barley, kamut, spelt, and triticale. You also must watch out for oats. By nature oats are gluten free however they are usually grown in or adjacent to wheat fields and are contaminated with wheat so they must be certified gluten free in order to use for a celiac patient.