Chef Forum banner

Global vs F. Dick

10K views 8 replies 4 participants last post by  rick alan 
#1 ·
Hello folks - my wife recently bought us a nice Global Classic set on sale for $319. I'm just a basic home cook with no formal training.

https://www.williams-sonoma.com/products/global-classic-7-piece-wood-block-set/

We haven't yet opened them, but they are decent and should suffice for my needs. I don't mind they're lightweight.

I came across F. Dick and in particular, these 2 series (1905 and Worldchefs). These have gotten great reviews and I'm considering these instead. Curious as to thoughts:

https://www.afcoltellerie.com/en/bl...ck-wacs-knives-tong-and-sharpening-steel.html

https://www.afcoltellerie.com/en/dick-1905-santoku-cm-18-10804.html

Thank you!

#2 ·
Hi and welcome to CT. :)

Here are my thoughts: Yep, those are knives.

So, here are some questions I have for you.

- How do they feel in your hand?
- Where do you prefer the balance point?
- What material do you prefer the handles to be made of? Wood? Composite material? Metal? Plastic?
- What style handle do you prefer?
- What size blade in terms of length, width and thickness do you prefer in a chef's knife? Filet knife?
- Do you prefer Western style or Japanese style blades?
- What metal do you prefer in a blade?
- Do you prefer a stiff blade or a more flexible blade?
- What sort of bevel are you looking for?
- What are the most common ingredients the knives will be used to prepare? Meat, fish, poultry, veggies/fruit?
- What level are your knife skills? None, beginner, intermediate, advanced, samurai?
- Do you know how to use wet stones to sharpen knives?

Choosing a knife or a set of knives is a very personal decision regardless if you are a beginner or a professional. None of us can tell you what is good for you. We can comment on the manufacturing quality of a knife. But, that's about it.

If you answer these questions, then, you can actually answer your own question. :)

Good luck.

#4 ·