Getting started

Discussion in 'Professional Chefs' started by ConfusedYoungin', May 15, 2018.

1. ConfusedYoungin'

ConfusedYoungin'

Exp:
    Little
    I am a student at a business school in south Texas. I was studying finance until I realized how little passion I had for it. Realizing I enjoy cooking for others and have an immense sense of pride whenever a friend or family member likes what I serve. I have recently started working for a catering company as a cook and although the work I do there is unimaginative and monotonous, I enjoy it. Basically what I'm wondering is how did most of you get your start and how did you progress through your career? I find it difficult to pay for a formal culinary education and am wondering if there are any respected alternatives.

2. sgsvirgil

sgsvirgil

Exp:
    Retired Owner/Operator
    Hi ConfusedYoungin' and welcome to CT! :)

To answer your first question, I count my first real start in this business when I began working in my uncle's restaurant full time. Before then, when I was in high school, I worked for him over the summers as a dishwasher, fill in line cook/food prep, busboy, server, gopher....you name it, I did it. I think I learned more about life in his kitchen than I did anywhere else. I even had my first crush when I was about 16 while I was working there. She was the "older woman" (and by older woman, I mean she was 19) that worked as a server and hostess. :) Her name was Sophia and she had raven black hair and soul crushing blue eyes. We've been married now for almost 40 years. :)

After I graduated from college, I returned to work for my uncle while I figured out how I was going to put my degree in business administration to use. I never left. 12 years later, I was running his kitchen and 5 years after that, my uncle turned over the business to me and became my "silent partner" until his death almost 19 years ago.