Gesshin Uraku vs Richmond Addict 2 AEBL

Discussion in 'Cooking Knife Reviews' started by crispy, Jul 27, 2013.

1. crispy

crispy

Exp:
    At home cook
    I'm a home cook looking for a 240mm gyuto to replace my 20 year old Wusthof chef as my main knife. I'm not looking for a new hobby or a "starter" knife, but something that can give me years of good service with proper care. I will get a combination stone and give hand sharpening a try. Anyway, for possibly arbitrary reasons I've narrowed my search to these two knives. Both get good reviews as capable all-round knives at attractive prices, both are house brands of the two e-tailers that get mentioned most often on this board. They are comparably priced. My assumption is that I can't go far wrong with either one, but I am curious whether any of the habitués of this forum (from whose posts I've learned a lot) have any thoughts on the comparison before I pull the trigger. Thanks in advance for any insights.

2. boar_d_laze

boar_d_laze

Exp:
    Cook At Home
    Uraku is thinner, has a lower profile, and better F&F on the blade.  The Addict is tall -- very tall -- and is available in a range of alloys all of which are better than the Uraku.  It's made OEM for Richmond and Richmond blade cosmetics can leave something to be desired. 

Both are extremely functional, high-value knives.  Can't lose. 

I think Phaedrus -- who occasionally posts oh CT -- has extensive experience with the Addict, but am not sure how often he checks his PM box. 

You can ask about it on CKtG forum, but most of us there have a predisposition to like Richmond knives. You can also ask at the KKF, but the hostility there to all things related to CKtG and Richmond is palpable; and there's also a predisposition to like anything related to JKI.  Unfortunately, the other knife forums seem to either be moribund or to reflect a very limited range of opinions.