Garde Manger Resources

Joined May 14, 2001
Hope this is the right forum to post this in...

I recently won a competition here in our state that will be taking me to a National Competition this summer...this is not a team event but rather one individual from each state competing in a lit of given competencies and challenges over the course of eight hours...we will not know what we will be asked to prepare until that time.

So....I'm feeling a bit in over my head! :lol: I'm in my first semester of Culinary School right now and doing well...but I have not yet worked in the industry...

My biggest "area of opportunity" (or weakness :lol: ) is in creative presentation...both on the Hot Foods side and even moreso in Garde Manger. I have not yet really worked on canape platters, crudite platters, etc...Again, having not yet worked in the industry I've only had the last few months at school that I've begun to think about how things look on a plate and creative ways to present them...

I'm fortunate that the chefs at school are working with me extra hours on a one on one basis to help me prepare...but I'd like to get my hands on some great resources to help the Creative juices flow above and beyond the examples that they are showing me(they're expecting me to come in with my own ideas of course! )....Anybody know of any that they might recommend? I have the Professional Chef's Art of Garde Manger but would love a few more things to browse through - books, magazines, websites, etc?

Many many thanks! :)

Joined May 26, 2001
Congratulations!

The first book I can recommend is:
Art of Garnishing by Inja Nam and Arno Schmidt, published by Van Nostrand Reinhold. Copyright 1993. ISBN 0-442-01084-2.

Can't look any more tonight, but I'll check tomorrow.

Joined Feb 6, 2002
There is also Garde Manger: Art and Craft of the Cold Kitchen by the CIA which I have. You have gotten off to a good start with Frederic Sonnenschmidt's book since he is considered one of the top in this field.