Future or present concerns for accepting position..

Discussion in 'Professional Chefs' started by buerrefondue, Jan 2, 2006.

1. buerrefondue

buerrefondue

Exp:
    Line Cook
    Hi all... i am new to the forum and would very much like some advice.I live east of NYC, where i have been a successful line cook, working with some very talented chefs.i have always been blessed with good jobs, paying very well.however, now i have reached a moment in my growth,where i feel it is vital for me to continue learning, as well as putting myself on the map. i have been offered a position in a NYC well to do kitchen. the only thing is that the pay is alot less than what i could make on long island. so my question is simply... do i continue with kitchens that will pay well... or do i take a chance, make some sacrifices,and place myself in a position that will more than likely ensure a very decent career?? any opinions will be valued.

2. chrose

chrose

Exp:
    Professional Chef
    I feel odd answering this as I am in my own career quandry at the moment! However I shall assume you are young enough that you are at the beginning of your career and are able to be flexible. If that is the case I would suggest you go for the NYC job. The experience and potential connections you could make will pay you far more in the long run than what you make now. In NYC there are a ton of people that can make things happen for you, far less so in L.I., a bedroom community. In the long run a resume that shows you being a line cook at regular restaurants will mostly allow you to continue as a line cook, it shows no real growth and at some point you will reach a ceiling in salary. Having top notch restaurants from the city under your belt can potentially translate to better opportunities and even more money in the long run. So I say if you can afford to grow, and learn, then the city is where you need to be!

3. buerrefondue

buerrefondue

Exp:
    Line Cook