funghi porcini

Discussion in 'Food & Cooking' started by elakin, Sep 22, 2001.

1. elakin

elakin

ok folks....

i've just returned to bologna after spending a few days in florence. and i've got a big sack of fresh porcini mushrooms that i picked up.

the markets were just about bustin' with them, and they were as low as £10,000/kilo. (this is about $5 for 2 pounds of fresh porcini (!)) yes....that was my reaction too.

by the way...florence is THE town in italy for food shopping. skip the touristy gourmet shops and head to the mercato centrale, where the florentines shop. fresh huge morels were as low as $7.50/kilo and i bought a liter of cloudy, bright green xtra virgin o.o. for 5 bucks.

so....help me out here...i'm kind of ashamed to admit i've never worked with fresh porcini before.

what's the best way to clean them? soak in water and then dry? or just wipe down with a damp towel?

then what? the guy who sold them to me told me to just simply sautee them with garlic, olive oil, salt, and a little tomato, then use them to sauce a fresh pasta. but i'd like to really feature the porcini and not use them on pasta.

is it best to start them in a dry pan and heat the water out of them first, before sauteeing? is it better to quick-cook them or go through the whole process of sauteeing, drawing out the water, cooking it away, and then sauteeing again?

any ideas or help would be appreciated.

2. mezzaluna

mezzaluna

Exp:
    Cook At Home
    Everyone should have such problems, Eddie! :p

Thanks for the market tip... I mean, the mercato centrale, of course. If/when we get to Italy (still dreaming for next summer, holding our breaths, crossing fingers and toes...), I'll make sure to visit. I'd also love to find local equipment stores to pick up some relatively inexpensive tools (truffle slicer and affordable truffles; a girl can dream, can't she?).

Love to read an update when you get time to write one!

3. elakin

elakin

affordable truffles!! good one.