Frozen vacuum-packed salmon - how long?

Joined Dec 19, 2014
Hi

I just bought some frozen wild caught Alaskan salmon that is vacuum-packed. It was frozen over a year and a half ago. Is this going to be ok to eat when thawed?

Thanks in advance.

Joined Oct 31, 2012
Absolutely. Thaw in the frig, don't break the vacuum pack until thawed and ready to cook. It should taste great.
If the seal has been broken and the fish has snow inside the package, then you probably have freezer burn. It won't taste great but it won't hurt you.
But if it just looks like a piece of frozen fish in plastic, then it's fine.

Joined Apr 14, 2020
I searched the Google and found out that frozen salmon in a vacuum bag can be stored for 2 years. After vacuum-sealed salmon is thawed, it will last in the refrigerator for about two days. I'm not really an expert in this business and only recently started freezing food in order to save money. We live in a difficult time and I have to find ways to get out of a difficult situation. By the way, during the search, I found a blog where you can learn how to freeze different products properly. If you are interested, you can check out https://freezeit.co.uk . If you know of similar blogs, please share them.

Joined Apr 14, 2020
I searched the Google and found out that frozen salmon in a vacuum bag can be stored for 2 years. After vacuum-sealed salmon is thawed, it will last in the refrigerator for about two days. I'm not really an expert in this business and only recently started freezing food in order to save money. We live in a difficult time and I have to find ways to get out of a difficult situation. By the way, during the search, I found a blog where you can learn how to freeze different products properly. If you are interested, you can check out https://freezeit.co.uk . If you know of similar blogs, please share them.
Thank you for sharing. This is a great idea!

Joined Feb 8, 2009