freshman in a culinary school, nervy

Discussion in 'General Culinary School Discussions' started by tillie, Feb 4, 2004.

1. tillie

tillie

Hello. This is my first time posting here... hmm.
    I'm soon to be a freshman in college at Johnson and Wales University in Rhode Island for Culinary Arts. I am nervous because most of the income freshmen will be from trade schools, and I am not. Therefore I will be behind, I'm sure, and won't know as much as I'm probably expected to know. I am willing to work long hours. I am willing to work hard. But I'm nervous that I'll be behind from the start. Does anyone have any tips for a freshman Culinary Student... Books to read, cuts to practice, things to expect??? :confused:
    Thanks!:)

2. suzanne

suzanne

Exp:
    Food Editor
    Don't worry. For one thing, everyone will have to learn to do things the way they are taught there. So while they may have to UNlearn stuff first, you'll be fresh. :wink:

Don't be afraid to ask your instructors questions. Some of your classmates may hate you for it, but you're there to learn. This is just another part of working hard.

We have a couple of threads/stories here that you should have a look at. KateW has a thread right here on being a new student at J&W, so you should definitely find and read that. And if you go back to www.cheftalk.com (without the "cafe" in the middle), you'll get a part of the site that has a report by Logan Worley on his experiences as a culinary student, start to finish.

And remember that you can always ask us questions. I'm sure others will chime in with some good books you could read to get a head start. (If they don't, I will later. :D )

3. katew

katew

Hi!
    Suzanne mentioned me above--I'm currently a sophomore at JWU RI. I don't do the diary thing any more but you're welcome to PM me with any questions you have.