Fresh Roses and Wedding cakes

Joined Sep 4, 2004
Hi,

I'm looking for suggestions on the best way to arrange rings of fresh roses between wedding cake tiers. My friends is going for the cost effective wedding, and roped me into making the cake, but she doesn't want to have the florist do this. So if there are any suggestions, it would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks! :)

Joined Aug 30, 2004
Hi melonrei -- I'm not a professional, but I just made 2 wedding cakes last week and all went well. I used fresh flowers on a White Chocolate Italian Meringue Buttercream. If you are planning to use cake separators between the layers, you can put the flowers in the space between the layers. You'll probably want Baby's Breath or other filler flowers (mini carnations?) to completely fill the spaces. Putting the flowers in the spaces created by the separators will leave your frosting neat.

I did not use separators, and just placed the flowers on the ledges created by stacking 14", 10" and 6" layers directly on each other. When I took them off the cake, the buttercream was "mussed" a bit, but it was fine.