freezing bread dough

Discussion in 'Pastries & Baking' started by breadster, Oct 27, 2001.

1. breadster

breadster

help! whenever we try to freeze our bread dough and bake it off later, it turns out terrible. The texture is heavy and coarse. This is a challah and the texture should be dense , tight and soft- which it is when we bake it same day or refrigerate the formed dough overnight. we make it, form it and freeze it right away. When we take it out we let it rise at room temp. I've tried all kinds of comparison and batch tests - it still doesn't work.

This would really help our production if we could make loaves ahead of time to bake off as needed.

I feel i am missing something fundamentally simple. Am I?

Thanks for any assistance!

2. w.debord

w.debord

Sorry Breadster I didn't see your post until now. I'm not a bread expert but maybe we can go thru a couple things and something will become noticable.

First thoughts are you yeast amounts. As I understand you need to increase the amount of yeast when freezing to compensate for a certain amount that will die in the process. I'll see if I can find the percentage...are you already doing that?

Other thoughts:

First I wouldn't shape it before freezing. I freeze in a ball double wrapped and defrost in the cooler over night, then shape, rise and bake.

Are you giving it a rise after it's imediately made and then wraping and freezing? Because you still need to rise it twice.

Are you keeping your dough wrapped through-out the defrost so the excess moisture stays on the outside of the plastic wrap and isn't on your dough?

Are you defrosting in the cooler or on the counter? Could you be exausting your dough before it hits the oven by not add enough extra yeast and then defrosting too quickly so the outside of the dough is proofing at a totally different rate then the still cold inner loaf?

If none of these idea ring any bells perhaps you can tell us more details? What have you done testing?

3. breadster