Found the Jungle today... very not good

Discussion in 'Professional Chefs' started by leeniek, Nov 8, 2009.

1. leeniek

leeniek

Exp:
    Professional Chef
    Well to say we got slammed today is pretty much an understatement and well.. I found out what it feels like to be so far into the weeds that it's really the jungle. Very not good situation. The KM is away so I was in charge and well...I did eff up... I am a stronger cook/worker than the person I had on the egg station and I should have seen that we were in the tall grass and heading for the jungle and swapped spots with them so I could bang off the egg plates but... that person is rather rude and upsets people when he calls orders and handles stress incredibly poorly so silly me stayed on board. Next time I am going to just bite the bullet, swap spots and get it done. We also had alot of big tables all at once and big tables definitely will weed at least one station if not more. We had three stations in their own separate sets of weeds because of how insane the orders were for a while.

We were understaffed and that was the owner's mistake and honestly that extra body would have made all the difference in the world and it would have kept us away from the jungle. We'd have been weeded still but not nearly as bad as we were. We ran out of stuff... thankfully we're a chain and we borrowed some things from another store. Running out of white crepe mix was bad.. it weeded us even farther so the KM and I will have to make sure there is more for next weekend. I still have his order sheet from last week so I am going to look at what he ordered tomorrow and order more just to be safe.