For those with an AAS,AS or AOS

Joined Jan 21, 2002
or something similar. Without the 4-year degree how far are you in the culinary field? Meaning is anyone a restauranteur, executive, sous or the like?

Joined Nov 21, 2001
dear culinarian247,
In hindsight I wish I had obtained my 4 year degree - not 2 associates. The 2nd degree in business made me able to fully grasp the big picture, I could understand the business end much easier. It also helped that I took extra courses in accounting, such as computer accounting, federal taxation and managerial accounting - I could follow the money trail much easier with the skills from these classes.
I graduated in 1981 from a relatively small (then) college(then) of culinary arts (J&W) with no other experience than a couple of part time cooking jobs and it was very hard to obtain employment, I feel that if I had continued on then to school I probably would have gone much further in the industry. Now I'm burned out on cooking and have no interest in working the long hours required to open my own restaurant.
As I said in retrospect I wish that I had done the whole 4 years at once, I feel that more business knowledge would've been very helpful.
kat

Joined Nov 20, 2000