food truck

Discussion in 'Professional Chefs' started by ldiatone, Sep 8, 2017.

1. ldiatone

ldiatone

Exp:
    Professional Chef
    all of a sudden things happen. kid wants to start a bussiness ...on her own but has to ask me for advice. BUT now i might have a opportunity to get into a FOOD TRUCK. i am RETIRED

2. ldiatone

ldiatone

Exp:
    Professional Chef
    hit enter by mistake. i do not have to worry about investment or money. i have been a country club chef for 30 years. so have been very versatile as far food-menus etc are concerned.. so question for chefs who do food trucks or have done them.
    what are your 3 most important things/items? truck is not a problem what is the most important cost? and as far as menu goes i think i can do menu.
    thanks
    chef john

3. chefbuba

chefbuba

Exp:
    Retired Chef
    Get the biggest truck you can afford. Don't skimp on equipment, know your market.

4. nicko

nicko Founder of Cheftalk.com Staff Member

Exp:
    Former Chef
    I don't think a food truck business is for the faint of heart and I would advise really considering the cost. Has your "kid" actually worked on a food truck? I would advise doing this for several months to get a feel for what it is all about. Few observations I have seen regarding food trucks. The trucks are expensive often as much as opening a small restaurant. Very limited prep and storage space. Either you have to have a separate prep location and someone who will handle prep while the truck is out selling. Or, you will have to prep in the down time. Storage seems like it is always an issue. In addition to this running a small restaurant on wheels you have to maintain a heavy Social Media presence. It takes a huge effort to run a food truck (more so than an actual restaurant in my opinion).

fatcook likes this.
  5. nicko

nicko Founder of Cheftalk.com Staff Member

Exp:
    Former Chef
    fatcook, drirene and flipflopgirl like this.
  6. ldiatone

ldiatone

Exp: