Food psychology research - influence of our senses on the taste and smell of food

Joined Jun 24, 2018
Hello,

A small introduction: I'm an applied psychologist from India. One of the applications I came across is in a personally loved area of research. Cross-modal correspondences. This area is about how the information coming from one sense affects the perception from another sense.

In one of my articles, I looked at the sense of smell and taste in the dining experience. This is how sound, touch, and sight affects the taste of food.

Here is the article: Food psychology research

if you are interested in the original research, the links are provided.
Never till I did this I realized how deep the holistic experience of eating food and drinking is! I'm sure many of you have valuable insights on how people perceive the food they get.

Joined Jun 24, 2018
Ah yes, it is Prof. Charles Spence's research that I got into. He is a genius.

Should read Gastrophysics. Should read it. Furry Cutlery sounds hilarious. Gotta read. Thanks.

Joined Dec 30, 2015
Good topic! Thank you Aditya.
And Tony, thank you too. I borrowed your highly-colored food idea and made it opposite. The hypothesis was that whitish food would lead to a 15% reduction in eating. Alas, it didn't work. Cheers! o_O

Joined Jun 24, 2018
I started researching and reading up as I work with children with multiple and severe learning difficulties. They may also have physical disabilities, sight, hearing etc Because many cannot communicate its difficult to known how they experience food. The only real guide we have is if they want more!