Food psychology research - influence of our senses on the taste and smell of food

Discussion in 'The Late Night Cafe (off-topic)' started by Aditya77, Jun 24, 2018.

1. Aditya77

Aditya77

Exp:
    Newbie home cook/researcher
    Hello,

A small introduction: I'm an applied psychologist from India. One of the applications I came across is in a personally loved area of research. Cross-modal correspondences. This area is about how the information coming from one sense affects the perception from another sense.

In one of my articles, I looked at the sense of smell and taste in the dining experience. This is how sound, touch, and sight affects the taste of food.

Here is the article: Food psychology research

if you are interested in the original research, the links are provided.
    Never till I did this I realized how deep the holistic experience of eating food and drinking is! I'm sure many of you have valuable insights on how people perceive the food they get.

2. 21TonyK

21TonyK

Exp:
    Chef, ex-restaurateur
    Its an interesting subject. You might like to research the Italian Futurists and try finding some of Professor Charles Spence's research.

Lots of info in his book "Gastrophysics" I do however draw the line at furry cutlery!

Aditya77 likes this.
  3. Aditya77

Aditya77

Exp:
    Ah yes, it is Prof. Charles Spence's research that I got into. He is a genius.

Should read Gastrophysics. Should read it. Furry Cutlery sounds hilarious. Gotta read. Thanks.

4. 21TonyK

21TonyK

Exp:
    Chef, ex-restaurateur
    I started researching and reading up as I work with children with multiple and severe learning difficulties. They may also have physical disabilities, sight, hearing etc Because many cannot communicate its difficult to known how they experience food. The only real guide we have is if they want more!