Food psychology research - influence of our senses on the taste and smell of food

Discussion in 'The Late Night Cafe (off-topic)' started by Aditya77, Jun 24, 2018.

1. Aditya77

Aditya77

Exp:
    Newbie home cook/researcher
    Hello,

A small introduction: I'm an applied psychologist from India. One of the applications I came across is in a personally loved area of research. Cross-modal correspondences. This area is about how the information coming from one sense affects the perception from another sense.

In one of my articles, I looked at the sense of smell and taste in the dining experience. This is how sound, touch, and sight affects the taste of food.

Here is the article: Food psychology research

if you are interested in the original research, the links are provided.
    Never till I did this I realized how deep the holistic experience of eating food and drinking is! I'm sure many of you have valuable insights on how people perceive the food they get.

2. Aditya77

Aditya77

Exp:
    Ah yes, it is Prof. Charles Spence's research that I got into. He is a genius.

Should read Gastrophysics. Should read it. Furry Cutlery sounds hilarious. Gotta read. Thanks.

3. drirene

drirene

Exp:
    At home wannabe pastry chef
    Good topic! Thank you Aditya.
    And Tony, thank you too. I borrowed your highly-colored food idea and made it opposite. The hypothesis was that whitish food would lead to a 15% reduction in eating. Alas, it didn't work. Cheers! o_O

4. Aditya77

Aditya77

Exp:
    This is excellent. Thanks for sharing such an insightful application and kudos to you for doing this. I'm certainly going to revisit the specifics you have mentioned to generate hypotheses. :)

5. ezCater

ezCater

Exp:
    Catering Marketplace
    Really cool stuff Aditya! Really interesting to think about the synestesic features of tasting food that a lot of people don't think about - the correlation between color and sweetness.